Rheinmetall unveils its new AMMR: a state-of-the-art radar for C-UAS, SHORAD and VSHORAD purposes
Rheinmetall has unveiled the Oerlikon AMMR, the Group’s newest radar system. The Oerlikon AESA Multi-Mission Radar (AMMR) was developed fully at Rheinmetall Italia in Rome, underscoring as soon as once more the subsidiary’s function as Rheinmetall’s radar centre of excellence. The brand new radar is now prepared for collection manufacturing.

Rheinmetall Italia’s Oerlikon AESA Multi-Mission Radar is a state-of-the-art modular radar providing superior efficiency and ease of operation in addition to integration into a variety of platforms. It could possibly monitor and classify a number of threats concurrently. Oerlikon AMMR is designed to function in stationary mode or on the transfer, even beneath gruelling environmental and jamming situations. Furthermore, it options cutting-edge digital counter-countermeasures. The radar is totally software program outlined, with a configuration able to adapting to the particular operational state of affairs. It may be simply upgraded in future to maintain tempo with evolving menace eventualities.


Rheinmetall’s new radar responds to extremely difficult present and rising short- and really short-range aerial threats: the brand new radar efficiently detects and processes mini- and micro-unmanned aerial automobiles; incoming rockets, artillery and mortars participating in excessive angle assaults; in addition to air/floor weapons and cruise missiles. Because of adaptive full digital beamforming methods within the S-band, Oerlikon AMMR mechanically detects, classifies and tracks the total spectrum of aerial threats.

In February 2022 Rheinmetall Italia held an Open Day occasion to exhibit the brand new Oerlikon AMMR. The profitable occasion was attended by representatives of all 4 branches of the Italian armed forces – Military, Air Drive, Navy and Carabinieri – in addition to representatives of the Nationwide Armaments Directorate, the Defence Employees, the Italian State Police, and the Presidency of the Council of Ministers.