Russia and the Affiliation of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) will conduct a naval train on Dec. 1-3 within the waters of Indonesia. It’s the third of such ASEAN+1 maritime drill, after the ASEAN-China Maritime Train in 2018, and the ASEAN-US Maritime Train in 2019. The train is aimed toward rising interoperability between the ASEAN Member States Navies and Russian Navy to make sure the security of maritime financial exercise and civil navigation. The train will embrace Harbor Section (just about) and Sea Section, might be held within the Indonesian territorial waters off the coast of North Sumatera, Indonesia.

The ASEAN-Russia Naval Train was permitted through the two events’ 4th summit final Oct. 28 by way of videoconference. ASEAN and Russia mark this yr the thirtieth anniversary of their relations. Russia, China and the USA are amongst 11 dialogue companions of ASEAN. There isn’t a rapid data on what number of personnel and vessels will take part, however Russia mentioned its navy might be represented by the Russian Pacific Fleet destroyer Admiral Panteleyev. It’s deliberate that H.E. Military Lieutenant Common Prabowo Subianto, Minister of Defence of the Republic of Indonesia, will order to begin the train from the destroyer Admiral Panteleyev.


Admiral Panteleyev is an Udaloy-class destroyer (“giant anti-submarine ship”) of the Russian Navy. She is known as after Yuri Aleksandrovich Panteleyev. The Udaloy class, Russian designations Challenge 1155 Fregat and Challenge 11551 Fregat-M (Russian: ??????, ‘Fregat’ that means Frigate), are collection of anti-submarine guided missile destroyers constructed for the Soviet Navy, seven of that are at the moment in service with the Russian Navy. Twelve ships had been constructed between 1980 and 1991, whereas the thirteenth ship constructed to a modified design, referred to as Udaloy II class, adopted in 1999. They complement the Sovremenny-class destroyers in anti-aircraft and anti-surface warfare operations.

ASEAN formally the Affiliation of Southeast Asian Nations, is an financial union comprising 10 member states in Southeast Asia, which promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates financial, political, safety, army, academic, and sociocultural integration between its members and different nations in Asia. ASEAN has 10 ( Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam) member states, one candidate (East Timor) member state, and one (Papua New Guinea) observer state. Plenty of nations had expressed an curiosity in turning into a part of ASEAN corresponding to Bangladesh, Fiji and Sri Lanka.